Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Sparky277480 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 17, 2012, 01:26 PM
    Breaks/per diem
    I work in construction. I have 2 questions. First am I supposed to get per diem when going out of the range that was agreed upon for per diem which was 60 miles or further from yor shop. The reason I am not getting it is because I am working a public works job according to my employer. How ever they r still paying per diem to employees who work private jobs. They are incorporated also if that matters. I heard that because we are on a public works job that my shop has to follow the local union guide lines for per diem.

Second question is about breaks. I work in California. And I am pretty sure that I am entitled to 2 paid 10 min breaks a day an 1 in paid 30 min break for lunch. I haven't ever revived my 2nd break since I have worked here. It's been about 5 years. If I choose to turn them in an I with in my rights as an employee? And can they give a negative referiance if I choose to look for work else where. I don't want to be black listed as a whistle blower. I think that there is no way I won't be terminated for something because I turned them in. I know that they can't fire me for wanting fair rights but what's to stop them from fireing for making a mistake or being late for reasons beyond my control?
    Sparky277480 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jul 17, 2012, 09:10 PM
    So what can I do about these issues? And are they worth perusing?

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Florida law regarding breaks and lunch breaks [ 17 Answers ]

I am searching for the law pertaining to Florida breaks and lunch breaks for at will employees. Thank you

Reimbursable per diem vs. employer paid per diem [ 2 Answers ]