Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Zion101 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 2, 2007, 07:28 AM
    What to do about my girlfriend?
    I'm not sure exactly what this site is for.. but I'm just looking for some advice on this.

My girlfriend whome I want to marry.Shes 24. She is a troubled person. Has a lot of hurt inside her because she was sexualy abused by her father. She has trouble opening up and when she does she pushes me away. Her family wants her to be with someone else. Not that I'm not good enough. Its just that the other guy has a job and a car. Im still a student. Im 22.

The thing is she wants to go overseas but She doesn't want to leave me.I can't go with her at this time for personal reasons. Her family doesn't want to let me and her be together. She was with the other guy because the family wanted to turn their back on her.. But she got tired of doing things she didn't want to and stopped. She lied to me about all of this. Was scared of losing me.

I don't know what to do. I told her to go overseas. That way we might still have a chance one day to be together and her family won't rule her life. But I'm scared of what will happen to her. She is emotionally unstable.

Im not sure what to do about her. The fact that she has such a troubled past has caused her to be someone she doesn't want to be. She needs help but doesn't want to be helped. She has hurt me so many times.

I guess what I'm looking for is the answer to a question that is not there. If someone knows anything about people who were sexually abused as a child. Can someone just tell me how to handle them. How to understand them. I want to try.
    JoeCanada76 Posts: 6,669, Reputation: 1707
    Uber Member

Mar 2, 2007, 07:47 AM
    First of somebody that has been sexually abused. There is no way ever to understand what they are going through. You can have an idea, but unless she opens up you will never have an idea exactly what is going on with her.