Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MelanieRay Posts: 70, Reputation: 1

Jun 26, 2012, 07:26 AM
    Lure training vs. clicker?
    What is the better method?
    I have a 7 year old dog that was lure trained when he was a puppy but, after we got through with puppy manners (sit, stay, walk on the leash and lay down) we stopped. He is my dog and Im happy with what he knows. His big "tricks" are to beg (sit pretty) and be invited into my kids rooms when the doors are closed (sniffing under the door until it rattles in the frame... self taught).
    Now we have a new puppy. They (my husband and son) want more from this dog. Silly tricks like dropping things in the trash and dragging palm fronds to the sideyard. What is the best start to get those and similar results? Is there a good book that will tell me how? Id like to go with the easier route of course but, I'm not willing to sacrifice the results. Any advice or suggestions?

As an after thought, if clicker is better, how hard is it to reteach an old dog new tricks? If my dog wants to learn I'm more than willing to teach him.

Check out some similar questions!

Clicker training [ 6 Answers ]

I am interested in trying out clicker training, would this be agood idea even if my dog is three years old, what should I know about clicker training, how much does a clicker cost, are some better then others? Thanks

Clicker Training? [ 3 Answers ]

:) Hello, I have just recently adopted an 8.5 week old golden retriever male puppy.  I want to begin training him pretty much right away.  I have bought a clicker and very small healthy treats for rewards.  Has anyone done clicker training with their dogs? If so, how did you find it? (pro's...

Clicker training [ 4 Answers ]