Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rblack72 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jun 14, 2012, 06:36 PM
    My Teenage Daughter Failed 11th grade, What should I do?
    Teenage Daughter Failed 11th grade I need advice

Hello Everyone!
    This is my first time on this message board. I have a daughter who is 16. She is my only child. For a long time I was a single parent until she was 13. We now have a blended family, but only one of his daughters lives with us, the youngest.

We recently started going to a counselor together.
    Since high school my daughter has changed A LOT. She is now in 11th grade. In 9th and 10th she barley got by. Her grades were low and she had behavior issues such as: sleeping in class, talking, passing notes. Well this year her Father and I really got more involved in her school by attending conferences with the teachers. Emailing teachers, and visiting the Vice Principal on several occasions. As soon as we seen her grades were poor we tried to nip it in the bud.

She promised to improve her grades and get serious with school. As time passed the grades were poor as well as her attitude and disrespectful ways. Her father and I talked to her, got her after school tutoring and nothing helped. She was also punished, but it didn’t seem to faze her.

When we questioned her and tried to get to the bottom of things she would use excuses like: the teachers don’t like me, it’s too hard. Even though she keep saying it was hard she put little to no effort in trying.