Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    melbalini Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Feb 27, 2007, 04:47 PM
    Dishonest electrician taking advantage! Options?
    Hi there,

I've got a terribly strange situation on my hands. I'm a small business owner with two other women, and an associate of mine recommended an electrician/handyman to do a fairly big job in my business:

-Replace a single phase breaker with a 3-phase breaker in my shop, and run new wires to the meters.
    -Install 4 new outlets
    -Remove 2 small walls, and patch the holes

We paid for all the materials at the GE Supply store, and it came to about $1800.

He said that we would owe him and his team of workers $2800 for the work. We gulped, and said "OK". We wrote him a check for 1/2 of the money, $1400 up front.

When the job was done, he told us that we owed him $2400 for the rest of the job. We thought he was joking, because all three of us were in the room and aware that we agreed upon $2800 as the final price.

APPARENTLY in an email the day before the job was started, he'd asked for our contact information and specs on our machinery for the permit for the job and I STUPIDLY asked at the end of the email: "Just to confirm: We owe you 1/2 of the $3800 before the job, and 1/2 after, right?"

It was a typo, of course. I meant to write $2800. My business partners know this, and know that that WAS the price we'd agreed upon. However, this JERK is holding me to my typo. (Since it is, unfortunately, the only thing we have in writing.)

The sad thing is, if he had a shred of integrity, he would stick to his word, and we would've hired him to come back and do more work, worth much more than $1000. AND, it's entirely possible that he quoted us far too little for this work, and is just trying to redeem himself, and keep from getting totally screwed over. I have NO IDEA, though, what the work is worth.