Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    shals_in_in Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 27, 2007, 12:16 PM
    Filing Taxes in Two states
    Hi,
    I am a resident of California since Dec 2005. I have received some back salary payment from my old company in Missouri in 2006. They paid off my dues in 2006. I have two W2s with payments from CA (present employer at California) and the other from Mo (old employer at Missouri). Since California taxes income from all states, will I have to pay income tax twice on the amount earned in Missouri. How can I claim a refund for the taxes paid to Missouri since I have to pay a tax to California on the amount earned in Missouri.
    There doesn't seem to be any provision on the Missouri non resident tax form to claim this.
    Thank you.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 27, 2007, 10:58 PM
    No, but California will give you a credit for the tax you paid to Missouri.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Filing for 2 states? [ 5 Answers ]

I lived in IL and worked full time through July.. then moved to TN and worked here the remainder of the year. Do I file for both or just one? I know Tn doesn't have state taxes but IL does. I'm confused? Help please.. Thanks! :)

Filing from 2 states [ 1 Answers ]

Hello, I'm new on this forum, but would like to know how I'm suppose to file my taxes. My husband is in the military, and is able to keep his state of residence in Georgia, so he can file all through Georgia. I lived there most of the year, and worked there most of the year, and then we moved to...

Filing taxes when lived in two different states [ 1 Answers ]