Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mohd_alfa Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 25, 2007, 02:01 AM
    Inter Vlan Using Layer 3 Switch
    I am a network administrator, I have a three Cisco layer2 switches and 2 vlan assigned in the switches I use to inter vlan between them using my firewall but now I have a new layer 3 foundry switch and I have to use it to inter VLAN between the vlan in the other cisco switches, I was searching in the internet for a long time but I fail to answer this problem if you can help please do…
    cajalat Posts: 469, Reputation: 66

Feb 25, 2007, 04:48 AM
    What's you're asking for is not in the least bit unusual and is done as a standard business practice throughout many Enterprises. You can do what you want in a couple of different ways.

1) Establish a trunk (802.1q) between the foundry L3 and each of the Cisco L2 switches and carry the VLANs that belong to each of the switches on their respected trunks. Then assign the IP's that used to belong to the firewall on your Foundry switch to each of the newly created VLANs. i.e. make the L3 termination point the Foundry VLANs.

2) If your Cisco' switches can't handle 802.1q (i.e. they're really old) then for each of the VLANs on your Cisco L2 switch establish a physical link to your Foundry L3. Assign each of the interfaces on your Cisco one of the VLANs that you want routed and then assign the matching Foundry physical interface the IP that used to be the default gateway (i.e. what was assigned to the firewall). i.e. make the L3 termination point the Foundry physical interfaces.