Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Rennes Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

May 8, 2012, 03:02 PM
    How do you become an Art Teacher and or determine what level to teach at?
    I have a BFA degree in Interior Design. I have a passion for art history/architecture and would love to share my passion through teaching. However, I'm not sure if I want to teach at the middle school, high school or college level. Therefore, I'm stalling on getting started on the process. I understand that there are different requirements for the levels in education in which one teaches. I live in Illinois and I'm open to going back to school to get a Masters in Art History or Master or Art in Art Education. Can you let me know of your thoughts in terms of, Is there an alternative route to becoming an art teacher? Is going back to school for a Masters worth it? What is it like teaching middle school, high school and college. I'm in my early 40's I need to be sure this is the right career change. Thank you in advance for your help!
    teacherjenn4 Posts: 4,005, Reputation: 468
    Education Expert

Jun 1, 2012, 10:19 PM
    In CA you wouldn't need a Master's, but you should check with your state's
    Board of Education to see what you need to do. Some states require a credential, which is an additional year beyond a four year degree or Master's. Try becoming a substitute teacher at each level. That would give you a good idea of what to expect! Teaching is rewarding, but can be exhausting, so do your research. Good luck!
    simon35 Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Jun 1, 2012, 10:40 PM
    Hi, I would like to send you an alternative route to becoming an art teacher - which is to teach your art lesson's online by setting up an online business or website...

You can learn how here to set up your pasion, I am also a member here:

chris farrell membership

I also love to paint in oil and doing this as I what to teach people how to paint in oil...