Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    anitha95 Posts: 18, Reputation: 2

Apr 26, 2012, 12:42 PM
    How to switch to Project Manager job ?
    I am a QA a Analyst , I want to switch to career as a Project Manager. Would CAPM work.?
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Apr 26, 2012, 12:43 PM
    Depends on what CAPM actually is.
    rpray2007 Posts: 319, Reputation: 23

Apr 26, 2012, 01:13 PM
    While CAPM - certified associate in project management - is a good start I would recommend you try for the PMP (Project Management Professional, also offered by the PMI) instead. It has a lot more credibility and it is fairly straightforward to get. It does require some real PM experience but you can submit your QA work as part of the work requirement.

Good luck.

May 7, 2012, 09:23 AM
    Thanks for the reply.
    I have only two years of experience so I think CAPM will be a good option for me over PMP.
    Question.
    Though I am in QA I am not doing a lotta QA stuffs ( technical) . My work nature is to reach out business often , reach out to other departments to get the work done. Some times I end up doing requirement gathering and presenting things.
    1. Does my work nature aline with PM job at least to some extent ?
    2. How far is the job opportunity / Job security ?
    3.Will I need an MBA ?

Please advise..
    rpray2007 Posts: 319, Reputation: 23

May 7, 2012, 02:47 PM
    Anitha:
    Two years of experience should be fine and requirements gathering and business process development is very much part of project management so you are fine there. If you can get involved in your company's quality management processes (and work on developing them) you have a better understanding of some of the project management approaches and will more easily count towards PM work experience.