Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MrsA0327 Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 23, 2012, 07:34 PM
    Husband in jail. I feel so lonely.
    My husband and I have been married for over 2 years, and we have a 15 month old daughter. He was married before, for 8 months. They had a daughter, but he doesn't believe she's his. His ex-wife told him on numerous occasions the child wasn't his and after they divorced she asked him to relinquish his parental rights, which he did.

2 years later, she took him to court for back child support that accumulated before he relinquished his rights. He paid $1700, but they still put him in jail and sentenced him to 180 days.

I feel so alone. I don't work (I have a political science degree, go figure) because I take care of our daughter. My husband was working, but obviously I don't have any income coming in. The money that is in the bank is slowing depleting because of bills, and attorney fees. I know I'm going to have to find a job, but I just cry so much because it's so hard to do this without him.

I want to tell him I want a divorce sometimes because I feel like I'm at the end of my rope. I watch our daughter walk around, and look for her daddy and it breaks my heart. He did this to our family due to his carelessness and procrastination, and we're suffering.

Any one with any experience with this?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Apr 23, 2012, 07:51 PM
    Did you see the paperwork where your husband allegedly signed over his rights. Because either he lied or misunderstood what he signed. A parent cannot just sign over their rights. That's why she was able to come after him for support and get him jailed when he didn't pay. But jail is generally a last resort so I wonder what the real reason he's in jail.