Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    KrisJT Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 17, 2012, 08:22 AM
    Tax return form I need to complete if I am a non US resident or citizen
    Hi,

I am from South Africa and own a property in Florida. I am busy trying to organise which forms I need in order to fill out a tax return.

I have sent the W7 form to obtain an ITIN, so I am awaiting that in order to fill out a W-8ECI for my withholding agent?

I need to know now what tax return form I need to choose... and would that form require an ITIN?

Details:

Own property in US
    Non US resident
    Non US citizen

Thanks if anyone could help?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 18, 2012, 01:58 PM
    Your need to submit Form 1040NR with a Schedule E (to report the property's rental income and expenses), plus Form W-7 to request the ITIN. The Form 1040NR, Schedule E AND Form W-7 MUST be submitted together, along with a notarized photocopy of your passport. If you are submitting the tax return from South Africa, you also need to get an apostille (a certificate of authenticity) from the South African agency that issued your passport in addition to the notarized photocopy.

You MAY want to use a Certifying Acceptance Agent (CAA) for this process; it helps ensure that the ITIN will be issued as requested.

I am a CAA; If you want my professional help, double-click on my title above and scroll down to my profile/signature. You will find my email address and websites if you cannot see it on this page.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Joint tax return non-alien resident and alien resident with form 1042s [ 3 Answers ]