Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ChihuahuaMomma Posts: 7,378, Reputation: 608
    Vision Expert

Mar 23, 2012, 05:47 PM
    911 Dispatcher
    Hi there,

I have an interview for a 911 Dispatch job and want some advice. Perferrably from someone that has gone through it since they are sort of specific questions.

-How is the CritiCall testing? What does it involve? Why is it two hours? Any advice on how to ace that?

-I read that there is a 10-week in-house academy. I'm really nervous about that because its far out of town and afraid I won't be home much. That makes me really nervous.

-How is the interview?

Thanks in advance.
    massplumber2008 Posts: 12,832, Reputation: 1212
    Senior Plumbing Expert

Mar 23, 2012, 06:05 PM
    Hi ChihuahuaMomma

I have no experience with this at all, but googled it real quick and came up with a few sites that should help a little... ;)

For example:

Any practice test for 911 Operator? 10 points for the best answer!? - Yahoo! Answers

CritiCall and the Dispatcher Applicant: F.A.Q.

911 Dispatcher Interview Tips - Get Sample Scenario Questions & Answers | Police Exam Tips

Just something to get you started while waiting for others with experience to pop in and help!

Good luck on the interview/job!

Mark
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Mar 23, 2012, 07:06 PM
    As a police officer we knew and worked closely with the 911 operators.

The test puts you under extreme stress to see how you will react.

When doing the school there is little but the school to have on your mind, Many are live at schools where you stay there. On the ones where you come home, time will be study and home work normally.
    Expert

Mar 23, 2012, 07:06 PM
    As a police officer we knew and worked closely with the 911 operators.

The test puts you under extreme stress to see how you will react.