Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    the_ram Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 23, 2012, 08:58 AM
    Asset valuation, Dividen valuation and earnings valuation calculation
    Hello. I'm currently studying for my Contemporary Corporate Finance exam. There is a question which has a high chance of being in my exam and I really need an answer for it since my lecture is unavailable and there is no other way of getting that answer. The question is:

Communicate plc (Communicate) is a telecoms company listed on the Main Market of the London Stock Exchange. Currently it has approximately 7.2 million customers in the South East of England.
    On 22 December 2011, Communicate received a formal takeover approach from Parlez SA (Parlez) a French listed telecoms company. Parlez has bought 6% of Communicates shares on the open market in the previous three months. During recent weeks, Parlez has met with the board of Communicate to try to reach agreement on an offer for Communicate that reflects fair value for shareholders. These talks included a discussion on the performance of Communicate's continuing businesses, its potential value to Parlez and how the parties might cooperate during the anticipated regulatory investigation. Parlez owns two other telecoms companies in the UK and has a market share of around 12 million customers in England and 15 million in France. Parlez has asked for permission to begin the due diligence process on Communicate.
    A copy of the formal takeover bid of Parlez is given below:
    A proposed cash payment of 1140p per share for Communicate (a total offer of £19,176m). An additional amount of £600m would be paid to the Communicate's bondholders whose bonds would automatically convert to ordinary shares in the event of a takeover.
    In terms of this proposal, Communicate will be permitted to pay dividends in the normal course of business, prior to the deal being completed but no further interest on the bonds would be paid.