Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    susanmart Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 23, 2012, 06:34 AM
    Non compete clause?
    I was laid off 9 months ago with the assumption I would come back to work for them. The time has come and they are asking me to sign a non-compete that I did not have before. I'm concerned that I would be laid off again in the future. How can I protect myself. Can I ask for a severance package to be added to it, and if so what amount is acceptable?
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Mar 23, 2012, 06:37 AM
    Without knowing the industry and job market and where you live it's impossible to come up with a dollar figure.

Non-competes aren't necessarily legal.

You protect yourself by having an Attorney review anything/everything you sign.
    susanmart Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 23, 2012, 06:44 AM
    I am a property manager. I understand in this field, management companies want to protect themselves. The non compete is not stopping me from working for another company, it is stopping me from working on any of there clients properties or the property I will be working on. A severance package in the non compete would make me feel more comfortable. If the non compete is for one year, is a six month severance unacceptable?
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Mar 25, 2012, 07:03 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by susanmart View Post
    ... If the non compete is for one year, is a six month severance unacceptable?
    If they offer you six-month severance, offer a six-month non-compete.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Mar 25, 2012, 09:07 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by susanmart View Post