Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jay11789 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Feb 19, 2007, 06:26 PM
    Gas water heater pressure release valve leaking water
    Hello all,

I have a slight issue with my gas water heater. It's a AO Smith 32.75 gallon type. All of a sudden, water is coming out of the relief valve pipe. I have placed a coffee can there, and I have to empty it out every few hours now. Im not sure where to turn for this one, as I have no knowledge about gas water heaters. If anyone has any info, or troubleshooting tips, they would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.
    doug238 Posts: 1,560, Reputation: 62
    Ultra Member

Feb 19, 2007, 08:02 PM
    Either the heat is too high or the pressure is too high. You may be able to simply open it and let it snap shut quickly. This may seal it unless the spring it too soft. Check the water pressure on your home to be sure it is under 80 psi. good normal pressure is between 50 - 70. Make sure the heater is not over 130 degrees.
    You may have to replace the t & p valve.
    Jay11789 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Feb 19, 2007, 08:12 PM
    Thank you for your reply. My water temp is set to over 130. If it is any lower, it isn't very hot. I have an L ranch, and by the time the water gets to the far bathroom, it cools a bit, so this is why I have it set higher. Its been set this high for a long time. When you said "replace the t and p valve". Do you mean the pressure relief valve itself? Perhaps that has gone bad?:confused:

Quote Originally Posted by doug238
    either the heat is too high or the pressure is too high. you may be able to simply open it and let it snap shut quickly. this may seal it unless the spring it too soft. check the water pressure on your home to be sure it is under 80 psi. good normal pressure is between 50 - 70. make sure the heater is not over 130 degrees.
    you may have to replace the t & p valve.
    labman Posts: 10,580, Reputation: 551
    Uber Member