Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tuxedo_cat Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 19, 2007, 03:31 AM
    Was paid with cash and check, no 1099
    Hello,

I am an F-1 OPT student who did some freelance work last year. I earned about $4500 from one job, $1200 from another and $1000 from the last. The thing is, I have not received tax paper work from the job that I earned $4500 from. I couldn't get in touch with my employer. I realize now that it was a "casual" job -- she didn't ask for my social security and was paying me in cash and check.

I am concerned about paying my taxes for 2006. I don't want to get into trouble with the IRS. I have been told that if they audit my employers, they may find records of me being paid with a check, and will come after me.
    1) How do I deal with the "missing" paperwork?
    2) How many schedule C's do I file?

Other details: it is my 5th year here.

Thank you.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 19, 2007, 01:34 PM
    You will still file as a non-resident alien, filing Form 1040NR with Schedule C to report the $4,500 in income.

The fact that there is no paper trail does not relieve you of the requirement to declare this income.

Fortunately for you, no self-employment taxes should be due (due to the fact that your are a F-1 visaholder).

If you need my professional tax help, contact me at [email protected].
    schoobi Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 19, 2007, 01:47 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by tuxedo_cat
    Hello,

I am an F-1 OPT student who did some freelance work last year. I earned about $4500 from one job, $1200 from another and $1000 from the last. The thing is, I have not received tax paper work from the job that I earned $4500 from. I couldn't get in touch with my employer. I realize now that it was a "casual" job -- she didn't ask for my social security and was paying me in cash and check.