Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    CliffARobinson Posts: 1,416, Reputation: 101
    Ultra Member

Feb 28, 2012, 01:07 PM
    When is the best time to start getting your pool ready for next season?
    I have an inground pool, unheated, in Los Angeles. I prefer it to be right around 90 degrees before I splash in, but others in the house can handle 85. For the winter, I shock it every other week to keep algae at bay, clean out the worst of the leaves, etc.

The pool person is "fired" from November until March, normally, but I was wondering if anyone with pool maintenance experience can tell me the best way to handle "off-season"; and when the "season" begins.

One last issue, has anyone tried those solar blankets and do they work? I am not going to pay for a gas or electric pool heater, just wondering if they can extend the swimming season.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Feb 28, 2012, 02:11 PM
    Cliff:

I have some experience with in ground pools in both TX (outside of Dallas) and NJ. In NJ we do a full winterization, but in TX for the winter we would pretty much just leave the pool alone - we would run the pool motor a few hours a day (more if the temp got down into the 30's to keep lines from freezing), shock it every week or so, and generally skim leaves - just as you describe. Then when it warmed up it was simply a matter of adjusting the chemistry and adding chemicals in accordance with what the local pool supply store said to do. We never used a pool service except for winterizing the pool in NJ - the rest is so easy that I never saw a reason to pay someone else to do it. Same reason why I don't have a chaueffeur.

As for a solar blanket - yes, it will extend the season a week or two. They work pretty well, especially at retaining heat on cold clear nights. But they can be a bit of a pain - you have to pull the blanket off in an "accordian" fashion, which can be done by one person but is a lot easier with two.