Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    grandmac236 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Feb 14, 2012, 10:58 AM
    What is Wifi connection on a 4g cell ?
    I am a senior citizen who does not know too much about the new 4g cell phones. I just got a new cell phone (My Touch 4g) T Mobile. My old one broke and this is the one the offered me for free.
    I tried to download a free game from Amazon but it keeps saying I need to install Wifi fot the game to load. I loaded other games from Amazon and other free games right from the cell phone itself w/o a problem.
    I tried to find how to do it and can not find it. I am new at all this stuff , and just started using a PC about a year ago.
    Can anyone help me? Can anyone explain to me in really easy instructions how to download Wifi or what it even is.
    I did have a problem downloading a free game Jewel Quest that came witj/on the phone cause it said the same thing.. need WIfi,but after 2 days of messing with the phone it finally downloaded. I thought that the other games from Amazon that said Need Wifi would have down loaded since the Jewel quest did but I still can NOT get them to download. I have no problem down loading other free games from Amazon.. just the ones that say Need Wifi.
    PLEASE can someone help me and EXPLAIN to me STEP BY STEP how to download Wifi on a 4G My Touch cell phone PLEASE . Thanks & HAPPY VALENTINES DAY!!
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Feb 14, 2012, 04:26 PM
    WiFi is a way of connecting to the Net through local hotspots instead of using the 4G cell network. Your phone is capable of a WiFi connection, but you have to have an access point to connect to. There are free Access points at McDonald's, Starbucks and many libraries. Some municipalities offer free connections.

I suggest you go into your local T-Mobile store and have them show you how to find if there is a local hotspot within range and how to connect to it.