Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Wyeth Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 31, 2012, 12:07 PM
    What Other Options Do I Have and Which Options Should I Choose?
    Hi,

I just happened to came across this site and was wondering if any members here might be able to help me with this problem of mine.

I am a mild mannered Malaysian Chinese (can't speak any Chinese languages fluently), 23 years old and I graduated roughly two years back (at 21 years old). I majored in the hospitality line and since the time I graduated until now, I still couldn't get a stable job in the hospitality line.

I managed to secure a job after 6 months of my graduation (after sending in countless of applications to different hotels) as a receptionist. Initially, I applied for a different position but was offered the receptionist position and after a month, I found out that I really didn't fit in with the staffs and there was once, my colleagues embarrassed me in front of guests about my fluency in speaking Chinese languages. I was actually trying very hard to improve myself but with the continuous 'bullying' that was going around, I was having second thoughts about staying. My boss finally asked me whether I wanted to become a permanent staff, which if I do, according to him, I need to work there for 2 years or more. So I respectfully declined him and told him that my uncle have asked me to work in his restaurant as he is in need of immediate staffs due to blooming business. My boss then told me not to include the hotel in my resume.