Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Popbubbles Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 26, 2012, 10:30 AM
    Is it a HIPAA violation if a dentist office employee calls my emergency contact?
    I recently was referred to see the general dentist for a root canal issue and recent development of TMJ I am having now by my othodontist(they performed the root canal on me and overfilled it and now denying it is harmful even though I have bleeding gums around that general area. Also, they deny the positioning of my root canal has anything to due with my recent TMJ symptomology... (granted, I know I am not qualified to say because I am not a doctor but it is my mouth and I know what I feel and see). Because I was given the referral from my othodontist while in treatment, I assumed that I would not be charged for a simple consultation for my root canal pain because I am still under treatment and I was given a referral. After I was done with my consultation, they did not tell me how much it would be. I was unaware I had a charge. They gave me my next appointments and so I left to class. Later that day, once I got home, my emergency contact number which happens to be my boyfriend told me he got a call from my dentist office (they told him to have me call them back asap tomorrow morning). I was so annoyed because I realized no one had tempted to call me! They called my emergency contact number instead of calling me. I have a phone and voicemail set up, why would they call him first rather than their actual patient? That number was given to them for emergencies ONLY... and this wasn't an emergency. Also, I had just updated my phone number that same day! They were neglectful to tell me about my bill before I left and then! I call them the next morning and the lady, says in a condescending way, "ah, you left and didn't pay your bill." As if it was my fault I didn't do their job! Please help! I am confused how I should take care of this. Keep in mind, I am a very kind person but thi