Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MrB43 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 22, 2012, 08:56 AM
    Conversion
    I would like your opinion about conversion at the age of 68? I started about 25 years
    Ago to convert into Conservative Judaism in Oklahoma City, OK. There was no orthodox Shuls
    There. I was transferred by my company to a division where I was required to be on the road continually. I lived in motels and hotels for brief periods. This went on for some time preventing any sustained contact with ANY Rabbi. I finally got off the road by quitting
    The company after landing in Memphis, TN. I started studying at an Orthodox Shul. I was single at the time and had been for about 8 yrs. I met and fell in love with a lady who was very unhappy with Christianity and Catholicism as she had been involved in both. We moved to Little Rock,AR and started studying with an orthodox Rabbi. We were progressing at a comfortable rate and then the Rabbi of blessed memory passes away! We are back in Memphis, TN and have been here for about 10 years. When we moved back my wife decided that she didn't feel comfortable going through a mikvah not being wholly committed as she still would like to eat at her kinfolks table, being unable to smoke on shabbos, and other shabbos restrictions. She has decided that to be a Noahide is what she wants.
    Well, that pretty much sowed it up for me. I love her and will not get a divorce just so I can convert. How much sense does that make? I am not afraid of being circumcised in the least! Meditation goes a long way in preventing pain!

I guess my main concern is that I enjoy studying from a Lubavitch standpoint, but I can't convert with my wife being only Noahide. Would I be hypocritical to convert Reform while being more interested in a much stricter way of life?

For now please let me remain to be known as "Mr. B "