Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Scott_B Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 19, 2012, 03:33 PM
    Rescind parental rights Tennessee?
    I'm sorry if I am not posting this in the correct place. I am new to all of this. I am a divorced Father of 2. Parenting plan is in affect, I pay child support, provide insurance, have visitation, etc. It has come to my attention in the last 2 weeks that the son I have raised for 17 years may not be mine. Yes, my name is on the birth certificate. His Mother and I dated briefly, I went into the service, when I returned home on leave she told me he was my son. I was 19 at the time, young and stupid. I believed her. She is now threatening me with more child support which I don't care to pay more if I am required to, that isn't the issue. My issue is, can I have a DNA test done and if proven I am not the Father can she force me to give up my rights? I am in Tennessee. Thank You.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 19, 2012, 03:41 PM
    You ARE your son's father! Make no mistake about it. Whether you are his biological father or not will not change that. I'm not going to even bother looking up TN law for specifics.

That also means that you will owe support according to the law. If she asks for a modification based on your income changing, she may get it.
    Scott_B Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 19, 2012, 03:51 PM
    As I said, child support isn't an issue. I've paid all of this time and will continue to pay. Money isn't the issue. I want to know if she can force me to give up my rights?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Jan 19, 2012, 04:13 PM
    Again, you are the legal father. She is in the worst position to do anything about it. So, my opinion is that she won't be able to do so.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search