Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    PsychoLily Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 13, 2007, 07:54 PM
    Does Stephen King use ghost writers?
    A girl I'm studying with claims that Stephen King is using ghost writers (that he writes down his ideas, but makes someone else write the books), and that it's a well-known fact, and that it took so much time for him to write one of his last books because he wrote him himself... I look on the internet but didn't find any evidence of it. Does anyone know anything about it, or where the girl could have get this idea from? I just can't believe it's true but I want to know if there's any reliable sources pretending that. Thank you! Lily
    RubyPitbull Posts: 3,575, Reputation: 648
    Ultra Member

Feb 14, 2007, 11:15 AM
    No Lily. Stephen King does not use ghost writers. As a matter of fact, at one point in time, he was writing so prolifically (a lot) that he published under the pseudonym (fake name) of Richard Bachmann because he was afraid of saturating (overwhelming) the book market.

Sometimes writers have a very creative spurt and can keep writing and writing. Other times, they hit what is commonly referred to as "writers block" where they have a hard time getting their ideas on paper or finding an idea. Sometimes, there is a lot of research that needs to be done, or they spend time building the characters and their environment. Both of those things, among other personal or professional reasons, can slow down the time it takes to write and publish a book.

My suggestion to you would be to ask your friend to tell you exactly where she received her information. If she cannot tell you or it was a rumor she heard, that is not considered to be a basis for a "well known fact." Well known facts are something that we can prove. Instead of driving yourself crazy trying to disprove her, you should make her prove that what she is telling you is true. She is the one who came up with this.