Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Black n Proud Posts: 14, Reputation: 2

Feb 13, 2007, 01:06 PM
    Caring for birds
    Hey, I'm pretty sad today

A baby pigeon fell from a nest 2 days ago and I have been trying to take care of it with the hopes of it getting better and flying away one day. It was fine up until lastnight, eating and playing in the saucer of water I gave it. This morning I woke up and it was barely moving, and seemed to be struggling to breathe, it died soon after.

Can anyone tell me what went wrong, what should I have done, this is the second time this has happened to me, I cared for a fallen chick when I was a child and it too died very unexpectedly :(
    RubyPitbull Posts: 3,575, Reputation: 648
    Ultra Member

Feb 13, 2007, 01:56 PM
    Hi B n P!

I am not a bird expert and not sure if we have any on this forum. Same thing happened to me as a child. I am sure it is just as upsetting when you are an adult, as it was when you were a child.

I live in the boonies and have learned a lot from watching them. Sometimes when you find a chick that has "fallen" out of it's nest, usually it happens because it is the weakest of the nestlings. I have found that a lot of babies don't make it because of the "survival of the fittest" aspect. Either a stronger sibling pushes it out of the nest because it wants the food the mother brings back, or sometimes, the sibling will peck it to death. Sorry but that does happen. Sometimes the mother will only feed the strongest and she will eventually push the weaker one out.

Here is a link that I think might help you figure out if you did anything wrong. Please don't beat yourself up if you do find you did something wrong. I am sure you tried to do everything you could. You have a good heart! Not too many people will go out of their way for a baby pigeon. Kudos to you for giving it a try! This site might also help you in the future if you find yourself in the same predicament.