Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    petesauber Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 9, 2011, 04:31 PM
    Why do we currently have no fossils of four-legged carnivorous dinosaurs?
    First of all, I am only asking this question about true dinosaurs. I am aware of, but not asking about: Pelycosaurs, which lived before the dinosaurs; or Crocodilians, which lived before, with, and after them, etc... It seems that every purely carnivorous dinosaur fossil we have found has been a two-legged Therapod. We have found bipedal herbivorous dinosaurs, but no quadrupedal carnosaurs. Is there a theory as to a reason behind this? Were Therapods simply first and "guarded their niche" successfully, or is there a good reason why a quadrupedal carnosaur wouldn't be successful. Or, is it simply that we haven't found their fossils yet?
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Dec 16, 2011, 10:58 AM
    This question has been languishing a bit without response, and while I am not an expert on this topic I thought I'd offer a conjecture. I find it really interesting that ALL dinosaur carnivores known to date were bipedal (theropods), and ALL dinosaur herbivores known to date walked on 4 legs. I didn't know that prior to this post, so thanks for raising the question. Much has been written about the supposed advantages for predators who can stand upright and use their forelimbs (arms?) to grab and tear at prey. But by that same reasoning why don't mammal predators like lions and wolves stand on two legs? There really aren't any mammal predators who are bipedal - except man.