Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member

Feb 9, 2007, 04:11 PM
    Statute of Limitations?
    In the Summer of 1972 I worked as a waitress at one of the local cafes. There were 10 employees who worked there during that time. All was well until the beginning of November when we did not receive a paycheck. The owner said he had some rough spots but we would be paid. He said that in December too and no one ever got paid for either month. One day he just changed the locks and the business was done. He fled the state. The other employees and I filed a suit against him for our wages and were told when he could be found, we would get paid before the other creditors. He was not found.

Last week I heard this man is back in the city and now working as a police officer - which was his original job but he had gotten fired for accepting bribes. Apparently the law forgets as he is really working for the local police department.

I imagine there is a statute of limitations? Who would I ask?
    RubyPitbull Posts: 3,575, Reputation: 648
    Ultra Member

Feb 9, 2007, 04:40 PM
    shygrneyzs! Sorry to hear about this. I can only imagine how this makes your blood just boil!:mad:

Is your intention to try to recoup the money he owes you or to file a complaint to a state department that this guy is working as a cop again?
    Uber Member

Feb 9, 2007, 04:45 PM
    Ideally I would love to get my money from this guy. There are still five of the former employees living in this area - the rest I have no idea where they are. I had heard two of the former chefs were arrested for a string of church burglaries across five states. They had gotten caught in Nevada. Am sure they are out by now. Lol As far as him being a police officer again - there is the chance he has reformed. I will let nature take it's course.

I know it is a long long long shot into a deep dark tunnel trying to get my backpay. Just wondering if it can be done.