Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    itsmesiva Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 9, 2007, 08:54 AM
    New Orleans
    Hi Tax Expert,

I went to grad school in New Orleans and am one of Katrina evacuees. I was on F1 status from Jan 2002 till May 2006. I evacuated during Katrina and so my graduation was deferred to May 2006. I have been working full time since October 2005 on OPT which got recently converted to H1-B status starting October 2006. For 2006, I have one W2 from my employer. I have a few qns:

1) Which form do I fill - I have been in the US since Jan 2002? Can you please tell all other forms that I need?
    2) Since I was a student for part of last year (on OPT till Sep 2006 and officially graduated in May, 2006), am I eligible for the India-US treaty deduction?

Thanks for your help !

Siva
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 9, 2007, 03:32 PM
    Siva:

1) You are still a non-resident alien because you failed to meet the Substantial Presence Test for 2006. File Form 1040NR or 1040NR-EZ.

2) Yes, you can still claim the $5,150 standard deduction as allowed under the U.S.-India Income Tax Treaty.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

New Orleans [ 2 Answers ]

I have a question concerning the rebuilding of New Orleans,currently the Plan is to repair the damaged levees ,pump out the water and then proceed With the reconstruction as usual. My question is if Suadi Arabia and Japan can build islands for airports and Resorts why can't they bring in...

View more questions Search