Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    gagoodenow Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 14, 2011, 05:28 PM
    504 plan for adults?
    I am a teacher in MA. I have had difficulty passing the Foundations of Reading test. I have multiple sclerosis and short term memory loss along with chronic fatigue. This makes it difficult to pass tests. Can the 504 plan help someone like me?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Nov 14, 2011, 06:50 PM
    The requirement of this test is to be able to teach. The 504 plan is to allow a student to partake of any Federal Program and a plan set up to allow them to contine in the program.

You are wanting to pass a test to be able to be employed. I do not see this referring to this.
    If you need some accomidation to take the test, perhaps do it verbal instead of in writing, Perhaps do it over shorter times and more days even you may because of your disability ask for some assistant. But you will have to pass the test.

I guess I have issues seeing you teach if you have short term memory loss and chronic fatigue ?
    Schoolmarm97 Posts: 206, Reputation: 47

Jan 9, 2012, 08:39 AM
    I have to agree with Fr_Chuck about the questionable wisdom of someone with the kinds of impairments you're describing opting to be a classroom teacher, but there are other ways to teach besides in the public school classroom, so I'm going to set that aside as a personal decision you'll have to make.