Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mistyeyed1 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 13, 2011, 11:20 PM
    Will EXPUNGED conviction show up on Live Scan finger print background check?
    I have a conviction that was expunged. The conviction is from 2002. I have to do a Live Scan fingerprint background check for a very good job opportunity as I am a social worker and work with troubled youth. (the conviction was nothing related to children, abuse, or sexual misconduct). Does anyone know in California, if Expunged convictions will show up on a Live Scan fingerprint check? Please let me know. Thank you.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 14, 2011, 03:32 AM
    It shouldn't
    mlynnc72 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 17, 2011, 03:49 PM
    My husband's expunged conviction just showed up on his live scan results and he lost that job opportunity, so yes it can show up. Unfortunately, DOJ says that it will only say "conviction set aside; dismissed" so if the idiot reviewing the results doesn't know what that means, you could lose your shot as well. If that happens, file a complaint with the fair and housing and employment agency because employers are not supposed to be allowed to use expunged convictions in employment determinations. Good luck!
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Oct 17, 2011, 03:56 PM
    This is how it works, first a "live scan" is a Identity check, it will show if you have ever been fingerprinted and if you had other ID's.

Then they use that ID to run a NCIC background check.

These checks will show to the police and government authorities any and everything that is done, so yes it will always show explunged reports.

Now this is the issue, the people who run it, are to black out and not give out any explunged records to anyone that is not government authorities or national security checks.

Oct 17, 2011, 04:09 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by mlynnc72 View Post