Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Kev-Cali Posts: 33, Reputation: 1

Oct 11, 2011, 10:06 PM
    Working as Independent Contractor full-time with same company for 2 yrs...
    So I recently got "laid off" working at a company (in California) for which I have been working full-time, for over 2 years. I have been getting paid an hourly rate, and have been filing a 1099 for the first time, for 2 years. Per the company owner's request, I have been sending him an invoice with my hours at the end of every week and receiving the amount in full with nothing removed for social security, etc.

The person who did my taxes last year informed me that legally I should be an "employee". A) due to the amount of time I have been working there AND b) because my job duties and orders, according to the IRS guidelines, qualify me as an employee and NOT an independent contractor.

Obviously I'm currently unable to receive unemployment under these circumstances and I am curious to know what my rights are... I am wondering if I could possibly revise my 2010 tax filing and change it from being an independent contractor. And, if so what would be the consequences, for me, for the company, etc.

I appreciate your advice. Thank you.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Oct 12, 2011, 03:33 AM
    You "might" qualify as an employee, but that doesn't make you one.

This lists the factors uses to determine:Tax Topics - Topic 762 Independent Contractor vs. Employee

You don't list enough details for me to advise which. But you can't go retroactive here. You can't decide whether you were an employee or contractor in the past, just because its more convenient. You accepted the role of IC by invoicing your employer.
    Kev-Cali Posts: 33, Reputation: 1

Oct 12, 2011, 09:56 AM