Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Ericssonguy Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Oct 9, 2011, 01:20 PM
    I am a cashier at a large retailer, would I benefit from wrist weights?
    Hi, I work as a cashier and have always been overweight. I have tried everything to lose the weight... Several diets, exercise 4 days out of the week... I haven't tried any weight loss pills or whatever, I don't trust them... The point is that I want to lose weight. Would something like wrist or ankle weights help me out? I figured the constant motion of cashiering would mean wrist weight would help. But I want to see what others think before I buy anything...
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Oct 9, 2011, 02:23 PM
    I work as a cashier as well. Personally, I would never wear wrist weights to work. I know they would slow me down and if there was any benefit, I think it would be outweigh by the discomfort of having a weight on my wrist all day long.

Have you talked with your doctor about weight loss? If your diet and exercise programs aren't working, there's a few possible reasons. The two that come to mind are either 1) the diet and exercises aren't right for you or 2) there may be an underlying medical condition preventing weight loss. Either way your doctor should be able to help you find a healthy, successful solution.

Oct 10, 2011, 01:02 PM
    Thanks for the responses!
    Eating habits:
    In general, my breakfast consists of 2 eggs, 2 slices of bacon, and 2 slices of toast. I tend to drink hot tea or a glass of chocolate milk. When neither are available I just have water. Sometimes I'll have a 16oz sized bowl of whatever cereal we have with 2% milk and toast instead of bacon and eggs.