Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    thecrone Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 20, 2004, 01:06 PM
    How to determine a fair price for a business
    My employer has offered me and my son a chance to buy her business. It's a commercial cleaning service that brings in aprox $15,500 a month. She wants payments of 7000 a month to be taken off the top of the profits. I'll be paying this for 5 years. There is no building in the sale, only existing supplies (vac's, cleansers etc.) There is a very good client list that I've been working for several months. My son and I only get 300 to 5oo a month at this time after all bills are paid. We are working long hard hours 7 days a week and have not had a single day off since last Nov. We are exhausted and discouraged. What do your experts think we should be paying for this business? Should we just cut our losses and bail? Please help. Thank you.
    viking Posts: 131, Reputation: 7

Jun 9, 2004, 11:39 AM
    How to determine a fair price for a business
    Your question is rather complex. In a nutshell, it is not a good deal.

Have you paid her any cash? If not then it sounds like you should cut your losses and head for the hills or try to negotiate better terms with your employer. Perhaps you aren't reigning in expenses as tightly as you can?

I would first try to negotiate a better deal with her in the short term and then I would work on making the business more efficient and increase the customer base through effective marketing.

Good luck.
    tariqz Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 4, 2012, 12:02 PM
    I want to buy middle level hotel/motel,is it twice the sales revenue.how we determine the prices
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Mar 4, 2012, 03:06 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by tariqz View Post
    i want to buy middle level hotel/motel,is it twice the sales revenue.how we determine the prices
    No.

First, it's not a good idea to add your question onto an old thread.