Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    laina89 Posts: 6, Reputation: 2

Sep 18, 2011, 12:50 PM
    How do I tell my family I am moving and getting married
    I'm 22 and my boyfriend is 28 and he is in the army in Afghanistan but he lives in Alaska and I am a full time student majoring in graphic design and I live in Tampa fl but my family lives in Virginia and I am worried about how to tell then that I am moving to Alaska with him in January of next year and we are getting married in February and I know my mother will not be happy at all I have always lived my life the way she wants me to and I am just really ready to live my life the way I want and I am just trying to figure out the right time and way to tell her. My boyfriend wants to tell her but I don't want to tell her just yet... How do I tell her and when should I tell her
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Sep 18, 2011, 01:04 PM
    I'm glad you've come to this site to share your story with us. I'm going to ask a few questions for clarification. Please bear with me.

Are your parents paying for all or part of college? How will you finish and where?

Usually the bride gets married at home or at least works out details with her family. Why won't you be doing that?

Sep 18, 2011, 01:18 PM
    No they don't pay for my college and I will transfer to Alaska or finish online and my boyfriend and I talk about where we want to get married and he has family in Florida and so do I so I was thinking there but I don't want to make any plans yet because I haven't told m family yet and I haven't figure out how to do that just yet
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Sep 18, 2011, 01:46 PM
    Does your family know about your soldier? How long have you been together?
    Jake2008 Posts: 6,721, Reputation: 3460
    Emotional Health Expert

Sep 19, 2011, 06:23 AM