Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kdigz8187 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 13, 2011, 08:08 AM
    Drug test paper work inaccurate with drug test given
    I work as a residential contractor at a larger company. The larger company brought my company in to be randomly drug tested. We had to fill out paper work giving our consent to take the drug test and what not. On one of the papers was a list of the drugs they would be testing for. Weed, coke, opiates, meth, alcohol. NOT listed on the paper, Benzodiazpines, the only thing I was worried for failing because like most of america, I don't have health insurance and had been taking alprazolam to help deal with my anxiety. I was not taking it recreationally by any means (I know there is no excuse. I was not prescribed therefore should not have been taking it). So when they passed out our tests, (urine sample test) it had benzo's listed as one of the drugs being tested. I took my test, failed for only the benzo's, and was fired. My question is, can they test for something that I did not give my consent for? More so can they fire me for this? This may be a stupid question but I just finally got my **** straightened out. Good job, started collage, had a child... and I'm just a little flustered by all this. Please let me know asap
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Sep 13, 2011, 08:41 AM
    Sure they can... I assume you are an AT-WILL employee... and they really don't need much of a reason to fire you. Or any reason at all for that matter. You are working at their will, as well as at your own.

If you are a member of a union... thus having a labor contract, then you should take it up with your shop Steward.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Sep 13, 2011, 08:52 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by kdigz8187 View Post
    My question is, can they test for something that I did not give my consent for? More so can they fire me for this?
    Hello kd: