Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    frazwood Posts: 129, Reputation: 2

Sep 12, 2011, 02:59 PM
    Author history, metadata, Excel, etc
    I am a professor at a state university. Last spring semester, I caught two students cheating when they submitted approximately the same MS Excel file for a take-home exam. (note: no, these students were not very good at avoiding detection).

I caught these students by going to the properties and checking the Author in the properties. If the Author was "Bob Smith" and the student submitting the file was "Jane Doe", then I became suspicious. When I compared the file submitted by the actual Bob Smith with that submitted by Jane Doe... And they were identical... Then I accused both students of cheating and I gave them an "F" for the semester.

Fast forward to now... Two of these students are appealing my decision to flunk them... The strongest piece of "evidence" that these students state is that they have never met each other. Based on my people-reading skills, this seems like an honest statement, leading me to believe that other students are involved.

So, I would really like to figure out how many different students have touched this particular MS Excel file. Using the Properties document, I know when the file was first created (and by whom) and when it was most recently save (and by whom).

Is there any way for me to further mine the history of the file to determine how many different times the file has been saved and by whom?
    JBeaucaire Posts: 5,426, Reputation: 997
    Software Expert

Sep 13, 2011, 09:15 PM
    No, not without access to each of the "versions" and where they are/were stored. There is not a "log" of all users who acted on the file unless the TRACKING feature was explicitly turned on prior to it being passed it around. I am 99% confident that did not happen.