Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Brenda2206 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 6, 2011, 08:11 AM
    2000 Jeep Cherokee suddenly will not start?
    We have not had any problems with the Jeep not starting until today.
    Go out at 5 am to start so my husband can leave for work but will not start.
    It ran and started fine yesterday. It does turn over and it is getting fuel.
    What can it be that I can fix myself?
    My son seams to think it could be that the steering wheel is not lock he think his dad broke the lock mechanism.
    I think it's something Electrical any ideas anyone. Brenda. I have no experience working on our Jeep I just don't know a sensor or something is my best guess.
    Thank you for any ideas or if you know thank you for your help in advance of any answers anyone may have would help.
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Sep 6, 2011, 09:44 AM
    . Remove and fully charge the battery. Most auto parts stores will do this for free.

. Check all under hood and under dash fuses with a test light or multimeter.

. Check for spark. If none, focus on the coil, Crankshaft Position Sensor, and Camshaft Position Sensor.

. Ensure you can hear the fuel pump run, when the ignition switch is turned to ON.

. Check for codes.

. Ensure you are only using the same spark plugs (Champion only) that originally came in the vehicle. Replace the platinum plugs, if you have more than 50,000 miles on them.
    Brenda2206 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Sep 6, 2011, 09:51 AM
    We do not have any codes showing. It ran fine yesterday and went out to start this moring it turns over like it is going to start just does not start.
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Sep 6, 2011, 09:55 AM