Aug 15, 2011, 08:11 PM
    Teaching or Nursing?
    Is teaching or nursing a better job?
    Tori89 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Aug 15, 2011, 08:12 PM
    Both are good but nursing is better!
    mandy093 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Aug 15, 2011, 08:18 PM
    Why is nursing better? I have always wanted to be a teacher and now that I'm entering college my family is pushing me towards nursing.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Aug 15, 2011, 08:23 PM

It depends on what you are good at. I'm a nurse, but I couldn't be a teacher. I have plenty of friends and family that are teachers but couldn't be nurses.

Now, nurses for the most part, get paid more than teachers. But, if you aren't happy with your profession, the pay is worthless.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Aug 16, 2011, 04:44 AM

There is no such thing as a "better job"

There are jobs you like, people who love to be teachers would not consider normally doing anything else.

People who love being nurses do so for that reason

If you look just at money, nurses often get better pay
    But nurses will also have to work nights, evenings and worst hours. Sometime longer hours, a nurse can not just leave at quiting time, if there is not another nurse to relieve them. You may have yourself required to work a double shift, no matter what you have planned personally.

So there is no such thing as better, if you want to know is it better hours, is it better pay, is it more job security,]\\
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Aug 16, 2011, 05:31 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr_Chuck View Post
    But nurses will also have to work nights, evenings and worst hours. Sometime longer hours, a nurse can not just leave at quiting time, if there is not another nurse to relieve them. You may have yourself required to work a double shift, no matter what you have planned personally.
    Preach it Brother!