Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jacki336 Posts: 13, Reputation: 2

Jan 31, 2007, 09:27 AM
    Incorrect info or is it right?
    I am 17, and have been trying to find a sure answer on a question for a while. My boyfriend is 21, and I was wondering if my parents found out we were sexually active, I they could 1) press charges and if they can, then 2) if they can press charges against my will. I live in Michigan, and I read that once you turn 17, as long as the other person is within 5 years of your age, it's not considered illegal. I've been trying to figure out if this was the truth or not. I'm not here to be criticized for dating an older man, or listening to someone telling me he's using me. I would just really appreciate if someone could tell me if what I read was the correct information or not. Thanks!:)
    RubyPitbull Posts: 3,575, Reputation: 648
    Ultra Member

Jan 31, 2007, 09:47 AM
    Jackie, I am not a lawyer and do not know anything about Michigan laws. But, until one of the legal advisors signs on, here are a couple of websites that you might want look at. Please read the postings very carefully. It will give you a lot to think about.

Legal age of Consent for sex/dating in Michigan - Labor Law Talk

Age of Consensual Sex in the USA