Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kimufo Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 20, 2011, 12:14 PM
    Can I sue a homeowners insurance for the criminal acts of the renters?
    I am a teacher and I used to teach my neighbors (who rent). I subsequently failed them in Algebra. The last two years have been a living hell. They have terrorized me; vandalized me; and threatened me. They have called the police at least 80 times for egregious lies. They beat up me and my boyfriend on my property and sent him to the hospital. They were charged with battery. Can I sue the homeowner's insurance? Thank you... Kim Hardgrove
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Jul 20, 2011, 12:35 PM

You don't sue someone's insurance company - you sue the person who has caused you damages. In this case you (or your BF) could sue your neighbor for medical costs and (perhaps) pain and suffering for the injuries you suffered at his hands. But be aware that his homeower's insurance does not cover him for being sued for battery, so any money you win in court will have to paid by the person you sue.
    twinkiedooter Posts: 12,172, Reputation: 1054
    Uber Member

Jul 20, 2011, 02:49 PM

If you were injured on their property and not your property you could sue them on their insurance policy but since this did not happen on their premises - no you can't do this.

Have you collected up all the police reports on these incidents and retained an attorney to sue them for your medical bills, lost wages, and possible pain and suffering in court? If not, then you need to contact and retain an attorney to handle this for you.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Are the creators of Publius in any way morally responsible for any criminal acts tha [ 1 Answers ]