Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    ker4sureca Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 4, 2011, 07:58 AM
    Wedding Gift Etiquette
    I'm a college student (working with a budget) that lives in Florida. A friend of mine is getting married in Illinois. I'm wondering if the cost of traveling to Illinois should have any effect on how much I should spend on her wedding gift. Is it rude to spend a little less considering we're paying for plane tickets too? What is acceptable?
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Jul 4, 2011, 10:37 AM

Your plane tickets will be a hefty price but how much did you intend to spend on a wedding gift ? Should you not opt out on the trip and just send a nice gift; promise to see them when you can.

Tick
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Jul 5, 2011, 08:24 AM

Gifts are gifts, given from the heart, not out of duty. I think you give what you can afford.

That might be $X if you don't go and $X minus the plane tickets if you do go.

I don't think you owe an explanation and a friend would understand.
    Synnen Posts: 7,927, Reputation: 2443
    Expert

Jul 5, 2011, 08:37 AM

Gifts are just that--gifts.

There are several inexpensive options for truly memorable gifts when you are already spending a lot on plane tickets.

You spend what you can afford, and whether you have plane tickets only affects the amount you can afford. You owe no explanation to the wedding couple.

Personally, I go for something personal but inexpensive (and easy to transport!) when I am travelling to a wedding. One of my favorite gifts is to get a wedding momento--like a First Christmas Together Christmas ornament, or a something embroidered with their wedding date and names---something personalized but not expensive.

Of course, hand making gifts is also another option, and can be given with love.
    southamerica Posts: 667, Reputation: 400

Jul 5, 2011, 09:09 AM