Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Lavina Posts: 31, Reputation: 9

Jan 29, 2007, 02:30 PM
    stats question
    I'm trying to figure out a problem in stats where you can find the probability of a deck of cards. Specifically, a deck of 52 cards, 13 hearts, diamonds, clovers, and spades. The first pic would be a heart. So what is the probably of the second pick being a diamond, clover, or a spade?
    Capuchin Posts: 5,255, Reputation: 656
    Uber Member

Jan 29, 2007, 02:43 PM
    How many cards are left? How many cards are diamond, clover or spade? What's the chance of picking diamond, clover or spade? - think it through

Jan 29, 2007, 02:55 PM
    Okay, you know I get all of that. After the first pick there will be 51 cards left. The first pick may have been a heart, that leaves 12 hearts, and 13 spades, clovers, and diamonds. I managed to get myself confused here, it may be simple but its my first time in a stats class.
    galactus Posts: 2,271, Reputation: 282
    Ultra Member

Jan 29, 2007, 04:11 PM
    A clover?. That's a good one. I'll use that term the next time I play cards and see what looks I get. By the way, those 'clovers' are called clubs.

If your first pick is a heart, then what's the probability of the next card being a heart, club, or diamond?

Assuming no replacement, there are 51 cards left in the deck: 13 hearts, 13 clubs, 13 diamonds and 12 hearts.

The probability the next draw will be a heart, club or diamond is then..

Jan 29, 2007, 04:55 PM
    Okay, think I got it. Sorry they look like clovers to me, I'm not a card player. I'll remember that the next time. Thanks!
    galactus Posts: 2,271, Reputation: 282
    Ultra Member

Jan 29, 2007, 05:51 PM
    Yes, they do look like clovers. Who knows where the club came from. Medieval times, probably. Anyway, what did you get for an answer?
    Capuchin Posts: 5,255, Reputation: 656
    Uber Member

Jan 30, 2007, 01:35 AM