Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Akeginu Posts: 26, Reputation: 2

May 29, 2011, 04:17 PM
    It's like what I did doesn't even count! How can I reach my goal?
    Upon graduating High School, I went straight to a community college (CUNY SCHOOL). I was young, and unsure of what I wanted to do. I switched majors a couple of times, and because of issues at home I had to start working full-time. I couldn't handle going to school full-time, and working full-time. I left the community college, but my GPA was already terrible. I don't blame it on having to work. It was completely my fault. I wasn't serious about my education then.

After working full-time for a few years, the company went out of business and so I took it as an opportunity to go back to school full-time. This time I was completely ready. I have always had an interest in the medical field, and so I went to a private school for an AOS in Medical Assisting. I graduated with a 3.92 GPA, and I worked very hard for it.

I wanted to continue my education at Lehman College which is a CUNY school. I wanted to go there for a BS in Biology, and then transfer to a Physician Assistant Program. I applied in March, and I just got the decision not to long ago. I wasn't accepted. It turns out that the work that I did at the private college did not count for nothing. They said I had to get my GPA up. The only thing that really counted on my application was the poor grades I received when I was in the community college.

I feel terrible because I worked so hard. I called the admissions office to speak to them and explain my situation. I wanted to see if there was something I could do. I know I made mistakes in the past, but I worked hard. However, the counselor told me, "It's a private school. It doesn't count". (It's an accredited private college though.)