Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    red_bran Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Apr 29, 2011, 06:19 PM
    Working Out/ Muscle Gain
    Hey, I just turned 16 recently. I'm six foot tall and 150 pounds. I've been working out for nearly five months. But I haven't noticed much change. I'm still a bit flabby around the mid-section, and I haven't been able to go up in weight in the past month. My diet is pretty balanced, I try staying under 2500 calories a day. Do you have any tips to help?

P.S: I read that it may be possible to be malnourished if you feel tired a lot. I have felt tired more than usual recently, should I be concerned?
    ITstudent2006 Posts: 2,243, Reputation: 329
    Networking Expert

Apr 29, 2011, 06:26 PM

You're at an age where your body is still changing. It's harder to get "that body" when your body is essentially doingit's own thing right now.

You also can't lose flab (cut/tone) and gain weight at the same time. If you try a cutting routine to get rid of that flab, you will lose weight or stay steady. If you try to gain weight (even muscle) your flab will still be present.

You have to decide what route you want to take. Do you want to get bigger than cut and tone or do you want to cut and tone from where you're at?

It is very possible to lose weight without touching a single exercise machine/weight and that is reflective of your diet. Now, doing just this won't cut/tone at all.

So, if you tell us what your goals are, we can better assist you. There are great loads of info out there and the one thing to keep in mind is everyone is different. My workout routine, my diet, my supplements, may not have any effect on you. When you first begin working out or hitting the gym, it's about finding your place. Finding what's right for you and developing a routine by that.

So again, let us know what your goal is and we can better assist you.

Your BMR is around 2560. I will explain this later, once you respond.

Apr 30, 2011, 06:45 PM