Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    fraissi Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 24, 2007, 09:15 AM
    Filing taxes for 2 states
    Hi there, I normally do my taxes myself but for 2006, I'm a bit confused. I am a CA resident and worked in California for part of the year (8 months) and I paid CA state tax. Then for the remainder of the year, I worked in Connecticut (and paid CT state tax) -- even though I still have a CA drivers license. Should I file two separate state tax returns? How does the resident/non resident thing work? Any advice would be very much appreciated! Thanks :) BellaLuna
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member

Jan 24, 2007, 09:20 AM
    The money you earned in CT gets filed to the CT Tax Department. The money you earned in CA gets filed to the CA Tax Department. Remember to enlcose a copy of your Federal Tax return with both state returns.
    fraissi Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 24, 2007, 09:25 AM
    Ok thank you. Do I have to file as a res/non resident or does that not matter? Please advise. Thanks very much for your help.
    shygrneyzs Posts: 5,017, Reputation: 936
    Uber Member

Jan 24, 2007, 06:43 PM
    The resident/non resident I do not know. I do know there are other threads that have been posted on this very question. Maybe searching some of those will bring you an answer.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Jan 24, 2007, 09:35 PM
    BallaLuna:

You would file part-year residents in both states UNLESS the Connecticut job was only temporary, in which case you would file resident in California and non-resident in Connecticut.

Also, attach copies of the other state's tax return when you file. It answers a lot of question before they are asked.

I suggest you get professional tax help. I am available. If interested, contact me at [email protected].

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question: