Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Peter-Berkeley Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Mar 29, 2011, 05:17 PM
    Resident alien with foreign bank account + private foreign retirement plan-form3520?
    For 2010 I am a resident alien for tax purposes. I do have a foreign bank account with more than $10.000 so I to file form TD F 90-22.1 (thanks to bine2 for the clarification). While filing form 1040 - schedule B: Do I have to enter my foreign interest in part I? Who would be the payer, my foreign bank?
    Schedule B, part III: What is considered a "foreign trust" - my bank account? I have a private retirement plan I do pay money into every month, but I won't see any money before I retire... Do I have to report my foreign retirement plan (I pay, I don't get money yet) anywhere at all?
    Thanks for your help.
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Mar 29, 2011, 10:43 PM

Yes, you need to report foreign bank interest on schedule B (Form 1040).
    No your bank account is not "foreign trust."
    Peter-Berkeley Posts: 10, Reputation: 1

Mar 29, 2011, 10:57 PM
    What about my private foreign retirement plan I pay into? I don't get any money before I am retired...
    taxesforaliens Posts: 649, Reputation: 117

Mar 31, 2011, 07:09 AM
    There are a few exceptions for reporting foreign accounts including tax qualified retirement plans
    Have a look here:
    http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0, id=148849,00.html
    and in the instructions for form TD F 90-22.1 to determine if your retirement account is exempt from being reported.
    frågamig Posts: 1, Reputation: 2

Jul 15, 2011, 02:03 PM
    Your foreign bank is not your foreign trust.

You must list foreign bank accounts and securities in the 1040B and list one or more countries in which they may reside in line 7b.

If your foreign retirement plan is under the state/nation where you are an ex-pat, it is not reportable under the FBAR.