Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lily65 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 22, 2011, 05:07 AM
    My co-workers are ganging up on me
    Hi I'm an assistant manager and my co-workers have complained to my dm that I'm intimdiating and unapproachable I've been in my role for over 7 years, however have worked with one person for over 11years . And that person is manipulating the other 2 staff I feel like I;m the victim and they are ganging up on me I have changed so much that I don't know whether I can change to what they want me to be. They say that when they arrive at work that I'm not bubbly and cherpy like them my job has been so stressful in the last couple of months that I always acknowledge them however I know that I'm not cherpy I'm at my whits and don't know whether I should get a transfer to another branch . I feel that I always have to justify myself all the time. What should I do
    smoothy Posts: 25,492, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Mar 22, 2011, 05:26 AM

There is something going on behind the scenes you aren't aware of.

Or you just haven't said WHY they are doing this... there is always a reason for everything.

If you manage via intimidation you breed contempt and people won't go an extra inch for you much less an extra mile. They will do only what their job description says and nothing more.

On the other hand... if you can earn respect people will follow you to the ends of the earth. That's not easy to do. In 30 years I've had two Managers that earned that sort of respect. And had several more that I wouldn't have taken the time to pee on them if they were on fire to put it out. And a few fell somewhere in the middle

There is a big difference between a BOSS and a LEADER. Even if they have common duties.
    I wish Posts: 5,296, Reputation: 2030
    Family & People Expert

Mar 23, 2011, 06:17 PM

Defending yourself may not do you any good as arguing with each other only escalates the tensions.

Actions speak louder than words.