Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rllycr Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 21, 2011, 02:13 AM
    GPS - Speed over ground VTG
    Hi, just trying to understand the full meaning of speed over ground. I do know that it is speed relative to the earths surface. But does this mean that it is based on the earth being perfectly spherical? If a car is driving up a steep hill at 60km/h (as displayed on the cars speedo), is the (SOG) speed over ground likely to be slower, lets say 58km/h (even though the car is on the "ground")??

Have I understood this correctly?

Thanks in advance
    jcaron2 Posts: 986, Reputation: 204

Mar 21, 2011, 10:25 AM
    I'm not an expert in this subject matter, but I think you're mostly correct. I don't think GPS models of the Earth's surface are based on a perfect sphere though; I think the equatorial bulge is taken into account. Nevertheless, in the spirit of your question, yes I think SOG is, by definition, only the horizontal component of velocity (as opposed to a car's speedometer which, as you pointed out, is really measuring speed in the true [not necessarily horizontal] direction of travel).
    Newton1Law Posts: 60, Reputation: 5

Mar 29, 2011, 11:52 AM
    The GPS system makes its measurements from space based on time, altitude and location of your GPS receiver. Time and location measurements are corrected by ground stations used to corrected for realitivity affects, slight altitude differences, gravational differences, etc. imposed on the satellites. Most aviation GPS units with differential capabilities do actually calculate vectors in three dimensional space. Newer ground based units also now have this ability and will give you the correct speed on even on a 45 degree hill.

Hope this helps,

Newton1Law

Mar 29, 2011, 04:37 PM