Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    fawjiya Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 10, 2011, 02:03 AM
    Assalamu Alaikum
    I'm Fawjiya from Srilanka.I'm a student.I have a doubt please explain me.someone say every muslim women should dress habay only.Is it correct or wrong?I think it is wrong.But I don't know how do I explain them.another question; which dresses women can dress? I don't dress habay,But I dress salvari,skirt and bluose.those are not fit or small dresses.I wear hijab also.I cover all body without face.is it correct or wrong?some people wear black habay and black hijab.is it right or wrong?
    AbuBakr_Fin Posts: 216, Reputation: 3

Mar 17, 2011, 04:44 PM
    Wa `aleikumus-Salaam wa raHmatullaahi wa barakaatuh.
    Both are OK, no problems. Don`t worry. You are dressing well, and it is giving a good example in sha Allaah, so people might understand that Islam is not in a particular style of dress, but in the obedience to Allaah and Rasuul -sAaws. It`s sad that so often men who themselves shave and dress like whatever that no-one even knows if they`re muslims or not say that the women have to look like this and that.
    But what you ask about is not a big issue, it is very minor. It doesn`t make someone less someone's brother or sister. Both opinions surely have evidence, and there are many opinions as it`s a wide subject, and the `ulamaa may have differences of opinion of what is preferred, and your Deen is for Allaah - you follow your best understanding within it. So avoid arguing about it, think good about them and be shy and sincere to Allaah.