Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Mar 8, 2011, 05:51 PM
    Knitting 101, and crocheting too.
    Hi all.

I'm at the end of my rope, or yarn as the case may be.

My daughter wants to learn to knit. I've been knitting since I was five, learned to crochet before that. The problem is, I don't know how to teach her. I can tell her what to do, I can show her what to do, but I can't direct her.

Does anyone have any tips? I'm frustrated, she's frustrated, and I've learned something very important. I am a terrible teacher.

We decided to start with crocheting (the knitting wasn't going so well) because it's a bit easier (at least the way I was taught) but that's not going so well either.

Sydney is a lot like me. If she doesn't catch on instantly she gets frustrated and loses interest. I want to make this fun for her. At this point I think both of us want to stab someone with the knitting needles. ;)

Anyone? Is there a book about crocheting and knitting for dummies? ;)
    justcurious55 Posts: 4,360, Reputation: 790
    Ultra Member

Mar 8, 2011, 06:13 PM

I've got a couple books, but none that I would recommend for beginners. I've been knitting for a few years and still get stuck with my books! When I get stuck though, I've found a lot of really easy step by step instructions through Google. I end up at about.com the most. And if that doesn't work, I can usually find a good YouTube video.

My grandma taught me to knit, and at first I was so bad she thought I'd never get it. Then I finally did and know I have to help my aunt re-learn sometimes. When I'm showing her things, since I'm terrible at explaining in clear terms, I do the motions super slowly while I stumble through "and then you pull this end that way...and...uhh...this..." haha
    Pets Expert

Mar 8, 2011, 06:17 PM

LOL! That's how I feel too Justcurious.