Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Feb 15, 2011, 07:12 AM
    Civil Recovery - legal or not
    Hello:

There's a reason why I can't find out whether American or Canadian civil recovery is illegal or not... I'm not a lawyer. However, there ARE a couple lawyers here, and I wonder if they could do some legal research into the question...

I have consistently advised our customers that civil recovery is ILLEGAL. If it ISN'T, I'd like to give correct legal advice if I can...

excon
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Feb 15, 2011, 07:22 AM
    I believe that it relies on civil law rather than being a criminal act in itself.
    So the real question is whether it's lawful or not.

We have a similar activity going on in the UK and there's currently quite a large backlash to the whole affair.

At the end of the day you haven't actually stolen anything until you LEAVE the vendors premises. Hence the actual criminal act.

Civil recovery is all about stopping people before the theft actually occurs and charging them for the time and effort involved in this activity.

Never hurts to have a quick look at wiki: Civil recovery - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Feb 15, 2011, 07:45 AM

The Wiki article Curlyben links (or an entry linked to it) suggests that there are statutes in all 50 states. I don't know if this is true. If so, and if one defines "civil recovery" meaning the right of stores to demand compensation, set by an arbitrary formula rather then by proof of damages, for shoplifting, apparently yes, it is "legal". It is, to my way of thinking, analogous to a liquidated damages clause.
    BossMan

Feb 15, 2011, 07:49 AM
    BUT, and here's the kicker on this, people are being CRIMINALLY labelled (thief) without actually committing an illegal act. This is a civil matter.